النسوية لا يتجزأ: عندما يجتمع الفكر متكاملة نظرية نسوية â € "الجزء الأول

قبل المحرر

في حين حللنا على ما هي المثل العليا للأنوثة لا يتجزأ واع منصب â € œ الروح من أنوثة متكاملة â €، هذه الوظيفة هي قطيعة تامة بعيدا عن ذلك. بدلا من التنبؤ كيف سيكون أنوثة متكاملة، وتحليل هذه الوظيفة ماذا سيحدث لو أننا الخريطة النظريات النسوية في عقل نموذج كين ويلبر وإلقاء نظرة على خط نمو الحركة النسوية. مستوحاة من جويس McCarl نيلسن € œFeminist الانشطار أو الاندماج؟ كين ويلبر يلتقي النسوية Theoryâ €، هذا المنصب يستكشف جذور عدم المساواة بين الجنسين على أساس الماضي، والنظريات السائدة النسوية الناشئة.

قضية عدم المساواة بين الجنسين: في سؤال واحد من شأنه أن تطارد أي امرأة خلال حياتها هو السبب في أن النساء الخضوع للفصل أو تخفيض قيمة مقارنة بالرجال؟ لماذا لا يوجد مثل هذا العداء الشديد ضد المرأة في المجتمع؟ لماذا يستغرق الوقت للمجتمع لقبول المرأة في المناصب التي يهيمن عليها الذكور؟ لماذا يعتقد المرأة عاجزة، غبية وجعلت وظائف سخيفة فقط ل؟ لماذا هو الإنجاب وحدها وظيفة واحدة من أهم النساء والسبب هو الحياة الجنسية للمرأة شيئا من الخجل في بعض المجتمعات؟ نيلسن يثير عدة أسئلة من هذا القبيل في بداية ورقتها على â € œFeminist الانشطار أو الاندماج؟ â €. الأسئلة المطروحة صالحة وتلك التي سرب حول كل فرد في التفكير، ولا سيما النساء. جميع الأسئلة التي وضعتها جويس نيلسن، والأكثر أهمية هو - â € œWhy لا عدم المساواة بين الجنسين يبدو أن السلكية الثابت في هياكلنا الاجتماعية وإلى الأيديولوجيات التي تدعمهم ولكن ليس بالضرورة في عقول ونفوس النساء الفردية و الرجال؟ ذلك أيضا، لماذا هو عدم المساواة بين الجنسين دائما في اتجاه هيمنة الذكور؟ â €

نيلسن كين ويلبر يلتقي النظرية النسوية: الإجابة على هذه الأسئلة قد يؤدي إلى تحليل ما لديها النظريات النسوية ليقوله عن عدم المساواة بين الجنسين. بينما كين ويلبر فيرى أن النظريات النسوية متنوعة جدا لدرجة أنه يبدو أن يتفقوا على شيء واحد فقط وهذا هو حقيقة أنهم هم من الإناث، جويس نيلسن يؤكد أن جميع النسويات الاتفاق على عدد قليل المشتركة الحقائق / الحقائق حول الموقف الاجتماعي للمرأة : â € œWomen هي المحرومة، تابعة وoppressedâ €. وجميع الحركات النسائية في محاولة لتفسير هذا التفاوت وتعتقد أن شيئا ما ينبغي القيام به لجلب المساواة بين الرجل والمرأة. ولكن المشكلة هي، جماعات أو عشائر النسويات مختلفة ننظر إلى الأمور بطريقة مختلفة، في العديد من وجهات النظر، مما يجعل من الصعب التوصل إلى توافق في الآراء بشأن ما يمكن القيام به لعلاج المجتمع من هذه المشكلة.

وفقا لنظرية متكاملة ويلبر، ونحن نعلم أن كل الحقائق أو وجهات نظر ليست سوى â € œpartial truthsâ € وأنها بحاجة إلى â € € œintegratedâ معا للوصول إلى الحقيقة الحقيقية أو â € œvision-LOGICA € أنه يدعو إليها. في محاولة لتحقيق ذلك، خرائط نيلسن النظريات النسوية القائمة (الحق من الماضي إلى الحاضر) في الأرباع الأربعة من يلبر â € "الداخلية الفردية، والخارج الفردية، والداخلية الجماعي، والخارج الجماعي. وقد فعلت ويلبر نفسه هذا في كتابه، الجنس، علم البيئة والروحانيات: روح تطور. نيلسن يبني على أفكار ويلبر على متكاملة النسوية ويفصل النقاط المتعلقة معتقدات النظريات النسوية المختلفة. كما نيلسن نفسها يقول: â € œI've جنبا إلى جنب التقاليد النسوية المختلفة والأرباع الأربعة. الفرق، رغم ذلك، هو أنني تجسيد كل القصة النسوية، وإعطاء المزيد من التفاصيل، والمزيد من التفصيل، وبعض الاهتمام ل€ limits.â لها

التراتب بين الجنسين في المجتمع: قبل تحليل النظريات النسوية القائمة وكيفية دمجهم، ونحن بحاجة لاستكشاف على مدى â € € œgender stratificationâ وقد اخترقت مجتمعنا. وما هو ليتم تحليلها هو، ما يسبب مثل هذا الفصل. إذا الفروق البيولوجية تؤدي إلى التفرقة بين الجنسين، ثم لماذا هذا التقسيم غير مقبولة من قبل الرجال والنساء؟ لماذا لا أي شخص يشعر التحيز القائم على الجنس وكأنها أمر طبيعي، وليس اجتماعية؟ حتى في المجتمعات التي تكون فيها المرأة هي المتقدمة في التعليم والثروة والمكانة التي يتمتع بها الرجل، استمرت عدم المساواة بين الجنسين. وعلاوة على ذلك، البيولوجيا المرأة، لا سيما جسدها والسلعية على نحو متزايد وتسويقها في جميع الجوانب في الثقافة الشعبية. من أجل القضاء على عدم المساواة بين الجنسين، ونحن بحاجة للتفكير بشأن ما هو السبب الجذري وراء مثل هذا التحيز وكيف تدل عليه النظريات النسوية المختلفة. عندها فقط، فإن وجود â € € œintegrationâ من مثل هذه النظريات أن يكون الاحتمال.

لتحقيق â € € œintegralâ النظرية النسوية، دعونا استكشاف، على غرار المنصوص عليها جويس نيلسن، ما النظريات النسوية يفترض نحو تهميش المرأة.

النسوية الليبرالية: الليبرالية النسوية هي واحدة من أقدم مدارس الفكر النسوي. خلال الموجة الأولى من الحركة النسوية (من 1800 â € "1950)، وطالبت النساء حقوقا قانونية â €" مثل الحق في التصويت، والحق في العمل، الحق في وراثة الممتلكات، والحق في الحصول على الطلاق وما إلى ذلك في الموجة الثانية (من 1960 â € "1990)، وكانت مطالب أجل المساواة في الحقوق مع الرجال â €" للانخراط في الخدمة العسكرية، للحصول على الأجر المتساوي للعمل المتساوي وأصبح كاهنا. يبرالية النسوية، على وجه العموم، ويجعل اقتراح منح حقوق متساوية للمرأة. ولكن ماذا فشلت الليبرالية النسوية لدولة غير â € "على قدم المساواة لمن؟ وبالنظر إلى الآن، جميع مطالب الاحرار النسوية يبدو أن بدائية إلى حد ما. العديد من النسويات تريد إلغاء الظلم، لا يعتمد عليه. لذلك، على النظرية النسوية، ليبرالية النسوية يجب أن تضع حدا لجميع الظلم ضد المرأة. ولكن الطلب على المساواة في كل شيء يثبت أيضا أن تكون خطرة.

نيلسن يوضح هذا مع مثال على ذلك قضية المحكمة العليا بين جيلبرت وشركة جنرال إلكتريك. يصف أليسون [جغر] هذا في السياسة النسوية والطبيعة البشرية: â € œIn هذه الحالة، اتهم موظفات لشركة جنرال إلكتريك أن استبعاد الإعاقة المتعلقة بالحمل من خطة العجز صاحب العمل يشكل التمييز على أساس الجنس. قضت المحكمة العليا في الولايات المتحدة أن هذا لم يكن ذلك، في جزء منه لأنه قال إن استبعاد الحمل لم يكن في حد ذاته التمييز القائم على نوع الجنس ولكن بدلا من مجرد إزالة شرط واحد الجسدية من التغطية. أحصت القضاة كما لا صلة لها بالموضوع تماما حقيقة البيولوجي أن هذه كانت الحالة المادية التي كانت النساء فقط تخضع! € â

وبالتالي، فإن الطلب على المساواة يجلب نتائج غير معقولة التي تحرم المرأة من حقوقها الأساسية، الحقوق التي هي فريدة من نوعها فقط لهم بناء على حالتهم البدنية. في نفس الطريق، وباسم المساواة، يطلب من الفتيات الصغيرات لعب البيسبول لارتداء الأشرطة جوك. يتم القبض على المرأة التي ضرب شركائها في الدفاع عن النفس. كل هذا، يشعر نيلسن، أسئلة تحاول مساواة المرأة لتحقيقه. الراسية في أقل الأرباع نصف، أصبح الليبرالي النسوية لâ € œpartial truthâ € التي لم تؤد إلى المساواة في جميع مجالات الحياة. حكم المحكمة هو الحال الواضحة المعالم لكيفية فشل السياسة الليبرالية / النسوية. وبعبارة أخرى، ليبرالية النسوية غير محدودة لأنه فشل في تحليل السبب الجذري للمشكلة التي تثير الرجال للعمل مسيء للمرأة. والسؤال هو، ما يضع التحيز ضد المرأة بقوة أيضا في هياكلنا الاجتماعية؟

النسوية الماركسية: نيلسن يتحرك الآن إلى تحليل حالة جيلبرت من خلال عدسة الماركسية نسوية. الماركسيون لديهم بعض المبادئ الأساسية المتعلقة العالم، والعمل الذي نقوم به، ومساهمتنا في اقتصاد المجتمع. النسويات الماركسية عرض عمل المرأة بطريقتين: الإنتاج والتكاثر. يشير الإنتاج إلى الأنشطة المنزلية التي تنخرط المرأة في â € "وخصوصا في عهد ما قبل الثورة الصناعية â €" مثل الإسكان، والتنظيف، النسيج والغزل، مما يجعل البيرة، يشير الصابون الخ الاستنساخ لأنشطة خاصة للمرأة وحدها â € "مثل الإنجاب، تربية الأطفال، ورعاية، والتغذية الخ الماركسيين نعتقد أن الجزء الثاني، â € € œreproductionâ مهم جدا للمجتمع كما تساهم في الاقتصاد ككل.

كما وضعت الثورة الصناعية في، صدر إنتاج العمل النسائية إلى الصناعات الرأسمالية وتركت النساء على أي شيء ولكن من المفترض أن â € œlow-gradeâ عمل € الإنجاب. من أجل تحرير المرأة، ودعت النسويات الماركسية أن المرأة تشغل إنتاج العمل بجدية أكبر. وهذا هو، والدخول في العالم الصناعي. ولكن هذا أصبح مرة أخرى العبء المزدوج للنساء اللواتي كان لرعاية كل من العمل الإنجاب والإنتاج. وبالنظر إلى المشقة التي تضطر النساء إلى الخضوع، تروج النسويات الماركسية فكرة التنشئة الاجتماعية من الأعمال المنزلية. حتى أنه تم في وقت لاحق لم تتم الموافقة عليها من قبل بعض الماركسيين. هذا هو لأنهم وجدوا أن التصنيع رجل بالغربة لا مثيل لها. في مجتمع المال التفكير الرأسمالي، والتدبير المنزلي واحدة من عدد قليل من الوظائف غير تنفير. وبالتالي فإنها رأى أنه لتوزيع التدبير المنزلي العمل سيكون خطأ وأسقطت اقتراح التنشئة الاجتماعية للأعمال المنزلية.

النسويات الماركسية "سياستين ويلهم â €" هو واحد أن المرأة ينبغي أن تدفع الأجور عن الأعمال المنزلية. وكان آخر بالأجر المتساوي عن العمل المتساوي في السوق. لوضع الأمور ببساطة، ورأى الماركسيين النسويات أن النساء تعرضوا للاضطهاد لأنه يعتبر أنه فعل عمل أقل قيمة (مثل الاستنساخ) التي لم تسهم بشكل مباشر في الاقتصاد. هذا هو السبب في الأجور عن الأعمال المنزلية أو دخول المرأة في العالم الصناعي أو الأجر المتساوي للعمل المتساوي â € "سيضع الأمور في نصابها الصحيح.

على تحليل النسوية الماركسية، ويحتاج المرء إلى التساؤل عما إذا كان هذا التحيز بين الجنسين فيما يتعلق بالعمل الذي تقوم به المرأة أو على أساس من يفعل هذا العمل. من ناحية أخرى، هو أن السؤال ما إذا كانت المرأة هي € € œdevaluedâ على أساس عملهم أو لأنها امرأة. ويبدو أن هذا الأخير أن يكون السبب. وذلك لأن امرأة في وظيفة التي يهيمن عليها الذكور يحصل الأجر أفضل من المرأة في مهنة يهيمن عليها النساء. كما نيلسن يقتبس كريستين ويليامز "لا يزال رجل في العالم: الرجال الذين لا" عمل المرأة "، â € œwomen الذين يعملون في مهن الرجال تقريرا ضرب" السقف الزجاجي "في حين أن الرجال الذين يعملون في مهن المرأة تصادف 'escalator'â € الزجاج. لذلك، من الفكر الماركسي، نيلسن تقتطع التي وجدت â € € œgender biasâ قبل الرأسمالية. العديد من الحالات والشواهد التاريخية تثبت أن النظام الأبوي المتطرفة موجودة حتى في عصر ما قبل الثورة الصناعية وعدم المساواة بين الجنسين وبالتالي، فإن الثورة الصناعية لا يتم تشغيل كنها فاقمت فقط.

على الرغم من ساهم النسوية الماركسية لفكرتنا من عدم المساواة بين الجنسين، فإنه فشل في شرح بعبارات واضحة على ما يسبب مثل هذا التحيز. على الرغم من المزيد والمزيد من النساء الدخول في الفضاء العام، لم يتحقق مجتمع طوباوي المساواة. ماهو السبب؟ لماذا الرأسماليين ضد المرأة؟

النسوية الراديكالية: جذرية النسويات، الذين رست في الأرباع العليا ويلبر، واتخاذ موقف جذري بدلا بشأن اضطهاد المرأة. يقولون أن يقتصر دور الإنجابي للمرأة جعلها موضوعات من الرجال. وهذا يعني، الرجال لديهم السيطرة على النساء فقط لأن لديهم السيطرة على الإنجاب أو الأنشطة الإنجابية. انهم تحديد الحالات حيث سيطرت الرجال الاستنساخ المرأة: واحد هو فكرة تحتاج إلى والده وافق اجتماعيا للطفل (حالة اللاشرعية هو من المحرمات). مجال آخر هو أسطوري. على الرغم من اعتقاد الرجل موجودا قبل كل شيء سخيف (فقط يمكن للمرأة أن تلد رجلا)، يتم نشر لبسط سيطرتها الرجل على المرأة. حتى استبدال القابلات مع حركة الديمقراطيين الاشتراكيين في الولايات المتحدة خلال أواخر القرن 20th مثيل. في عالم اليوم أيضا، كل التقنيات الأخرى المتقدمة المتعلقة الإخصاب أو الإنجاب هي الأولى من نوعها في أيدي الرجال (IVF أو التلقيح الاصطناعي).

من أجل استعادة السيطرة من الرجال، وتقديم المشورة النسويات الراديكالي النساء على التخلي عن التكاثر. أنها تشير إلى استخدام إجراءات الاصطناعية أو تقدما من الناحية التكنولوجية من أجل الإنجاب، وبالتالي، ووقف الرجال من السيطرة على الإنجاب. ولكن هناك آراء الثانية بشأن هذا أيضا. إذا كانت المرأة التخلي عن التكاثر، فإنها سوف التخلي عن النشاط الوحيد الذي يتلقونها اعتبار كبير في المجتمع. والتكنولوجيا لأغراض التكاثر إلا أن يجعل المرأة في â € œdomestic أو الجنسي slavesâ €. هذا يقودنا إلى عتبة الرأي السائد آخر بين النساء â € "لماذا يجب أن تعطي النساء حتى استنساخ (أو الأنشطة الأساسية لها) وتحاول أن تصبح الرجال؟ فلم لا نحتفل أنوثتها بدلا من تعزف على الذات الذكورية التي لا تملك لها؟

فشلت كل ما قيل، النسوية الراديكالية للإجابة مع وضوح الأسئلة عن التمييز ضد المرأة وكيفية إلغائها. إذا كان استخدام تكنولوجيا الاستنساخ يمكن أن تمنح تحرير المرأة، ثم، لماذا ليست موجودة، المرأة بالزيادة المتنقلة المحررة؟ لماذا لديهم لمواجهة التمييز من المجتمع وتحتاج إلى الاعتماد على شركائهن الذكور لعدة أشياء في الحياة؟

النسوية الاشتراكية: النظرية النسوية الاشتراكية هي في طريقة لدمج النسوية الماركسية والراديكالية. كما يقول روزماري بوتنام تونغ في كتابها النسوية الفكر، â € œWe لا تحتاج نظرية واحدة (الماركسية) لشرح الرأسمالية محايدة بين الجنسين ونظرية أخرى (النسوية) لشرح النظام الأبوي المنحازة بين الجنسين .... ولكن لنظرية نسوية الاشتراكية واحدة نظرية لشرح patriarchy.â الرأسمالي المنحازة الجنسين € نعم، يقترح الاشتراكي النسوية أن السبب الجذري لجميع التحيز هو مجتمع أبوي التي هي رأسمالية. الرأسمالية والبطريركية تتشابك بحيث لا يمكن فصلها عن بعضها البعض. توفر النسويات الاشتراكية جوابا على حالة جيلبرت. يقولون أن قرار القضاة كان ضد العاملات الحوامل لأنه رأى العالم من خلال عدسة الرأسمالية الأبوية. في قضية المحكمة، قامت مجموعة من الرجال الرأسمالي قد تمارس سيطرة كاملة على استنساخ عدد قليل من النساء. والنساء، وعاجزة واجتماعيا المعاقين، كانوا قادرين على فعل أي شيء حيال ذلك.

ولكن ما هو السبب وراء مثل هذا السلوك للرأسمالية أبوية؟ لماذا هناك عداء ضد المرأة؟ سوف نرى المزيد من التحليل جويس نيلسن حول هذا الموضوع والتعيين من النظريات النسوية الأخرى في منطقتنا قسم الجزء الثاني.

إشارة سريعة:

1. جويس McCarl نيلسن: الانشطار النسوي أو الانصهار؟ كين ويلبر يلتقي النظرية النسوية

2. من النسوية لالنسوية الإلهية: وذكر المنظور المتكامل

3. إليزابيث الصغرى: المرأة الروحانية متكاملة

4. إليزابيث دو بولد: أين هي المرأة

5. كيسة Puhakka: استعادة الترابط في كوزموس: A شفاء حكاية أمر أعمق

الوظيفة السابقة:

ما بعد المقبل:

Integral Feminism: When Integral Thought meets Feminist Theory – Part I

by editor

While we analyzed on what are the ideals of the Integral Feminine in  the post “The soul of the Integral Feminine”, this post is a complete break away from it. Instead of predicting how will be the Integral Feminine, this post analyzes what will happen if we map feminist theories in Ken Wilber’s AQAL model and look at the line of growth of feminism. Inspired by Joyce McCarl Nielsen’s “Feminist Fission or Fusion? Ken Wilber meets Feminist Theory”, this post explores the root of gender inequality based on the past, prevailing and emergent feminist theories.

The Question of Gender Inequality:
The one question that would haunt any woman during her lifetime is why are women being segregated or devalued compared to men? Why is there is such a strong hostility against women in society? Why does it take time for the society to accept women in male-dominated positions? Why are women thought incapable, stupid and made-only-for-silly-jobs? Why is reproduction alone the single most important job of women and why is a woman’s sexuality a thing of shame in certain societies? Nielsen raises several such questions in the beginning of her paper on “Feminist Fission or Fusion?”. The questions raised are valid and ones which swarm around every thinking individual, especially women. Of all the questions put forth by Joyce Nielsen, the most important is – “Why does gender inequality seem to be hard-wired into our social structures and into the ideologies that support them but not necessarily into the minds and psyches of individual women and men? That too, why is gender inequality always in the direction of male dominance? ”

Nielsen’s Ken Wilber Meets Feminist Theory: Answering these questions may lead to analysis of what feminist theories have to say about gender inequality. While Ken Wilber opines that feminist theories are so diverse so much so that it seems that they agree upon only one thing that is the fact that they are female, Joyce Nielsen asserts that all feminists agree upon a few common facts/truths about women’s societal position: “Women are disadvantaged, subordinated and oppressed”. And all feminists try to explain this inequality and believe that something should be done to bring in equality between men and women. But the problem is, different groups or clans of feminists look at things differently, in several perspectives, making it difficult to come to a consensus on what can be done to cure the society of this problem.

According to Wilber’s Integral theory, we know that all truths or perspectives are but “partial truths” and they need to be “integrated” together to arrive at the real truth or “vision-logic” he advocates. In an attempt to achieve this, Nielsen maps the existing feminist theories (right from the past to the present) in the four quadrants of Wilber – the individual interior, the individual exterior, the collective interior, the collective exterior. Wilber himself has done this in his book, Sex, Ecology, Spirituality: The Spirit of Evolution. Nielsen builds up on Wilber’s thoughts on Integral Feminism and elaborates points related to the beliefs of different feminist theories. As Nielsen herself says, “I’ve juxtaposed the different feminist traditions and the four quadrants. The difference, though, is that I flesh out each feminist story, giving more detail, more elaboration, and some attention to its limits.”

Gender stratification across society: Before an analysis of existing feminist theories and how to integrate them, we need to explore on how far “gender stratification” has penetrated through our society. And what is to be analyzed is, what causes such a segregation. If biological differences lead to gender differentiation, then why is such a stratification not accepted by men and women? Why does not anyone feel gender bias as natural, not social? Even in societies where women are as advanced in education, wealth and status as men, gender inequality persists. Moreover, woman’s biology, especially her body is increasingly commodified and commercialized in all aspects in popular culture. In order to eliminate gender inequality, we need to ponder over what is the root cause behind such a bias and how it is signified by different feminist theories. Only then, an “integration” of such theories would be a possibility.

For achieving an “integral” feminist theory, let us explore, along the lines prescribed by Joyce Nielsen, what feminist theories posit about marginalization of women.

Liberal Feminism: Liberal Feminism is one of the oldest schools of feminist thought. During the First Wave of Feminism (from 1800 – 1950), women demanded legal rights – like right to vote, right to work, right to inherit property, right to get divorce etc. In the Second Wave (from 1960 – 1990), the demands were for equal rights with men – to engage in military service, to get equal pay for equal work and to become priest. Liberal Feminism, on the whole, makes a proposal to grant equal rights for women. But what Liberal Feminism failed to state is – equal to whom? Considering now, all the demands of Liberal Feminism seems to be rather primitive. Many feminists want to abolish inequity, not support it. So, as a feminist theory, Liberal Feminism should have put a stop to all inequities against women. But a demand for equality in everything too proves to be dangerous.

Nielsen illustrates this with an example of a Supreme Court case between Gilbert and the General Electric Company. Alison Jaggar describes this in the Feminist Politics and Human Nature: “In this case, female employees of General Electric charged that the exclusion of pregnancy-related disabilities from their employer’s disability plan constituted sex discrimination. The U.S. Supreme Court ruled that this was not so, in part because it argued that the exclusion of pregnancy was not in itself a gender-based discrimination but instead merely removed one physical condition from coverage. The justices counted as quite irrelevant the biological fact that this was a physical condition to which only women were subject!”

Hence, demand for equality brings absurd results that deny women their basic rights, rights that are unique only to them based on their physical condition. In the same way, in the name of equality, little girls playing baseball are asked to wear jock straps; women who hit their partners in self-defense are arrested. All this, feels Nielsen, questions the equality women are trying to achieve. Anchored in the lower half quadrants, Liberal Feminism has become a “partial truth” that has NOT led to equality in all spheres of life. The Court’s judgment is a clearcut case of how liberal politics/feminism fails. In other words, Liberal Feminism is limited because it fails to analyze the root cause of the problem that provoke men to act hostile to women. The question is, what establishes gender bias too strongly in our social structures?

Marxist Feminism: Nielsen now moves on to analyze the Gilbert case through the Marxist-feminist lens. Marxists have certain basic principles regarding the world, the work we do, and our contribution to the society’s economy. Marxist feminists view women’s work in two ways: production and reproduction. Production refers to the household activities that women engage in – especially during the pre-industrial era – like housing, cleaning, weaving, spinning, making beer, soap etc. Reproduction refers to activities exclusive to women alone – like childbearing, childrearing, nurturing, feeding etc. Marxists believe that the second part, “reproduction” is very important to the society as that contributes to the economy at large.

As the industrial revolution set in, women’s production work was passed on to the capitalist industries and women were left to nothing but the supposedly “low-grade” work of reproduction. In order to emancipate women, the Marxist feminists advocated that women take up production work more seriously. That is, enter into the industrial world. But this again became a double burden to women who had to take care of both reproductive and production work. Considering the hardship that women have to undergo, Marxist feminists propagated the idea of socialization of household work. Even that was later not approved by certain Marxists. This is because they found that industrialization alienated man like no other. In a capitalist, money-minded society, homemaking was one of the few non-alienating jobs. Hence they opined that, to distribute homemaking work would be a mistake and dropped the proposal of socialization of domestic work.

Marxist feminists’ two policies were inspiring – one was that women should be paid wages for household work; another was, equal wages for equal work in the marketplace. To put things simply, Marxists feminists felt that women were oppressed because it was considered that they did less valuable work (like reproduction) which did not contribute directly to the economy. That is why wages for household work or women’s entry into the industrial world or equal pay for equal work – will set things right.

On analyzing Marxist feminism, one needs to question whether this gender bias is with regard to the work done by women or based on who does the work. In other terms, it is to question whether women are “devalued” based on their work or because they are women. The latter seems to be reason. This is because a woman in a male-dominated job gets better pay than a woman in a women-dominated profession. As Nielsen quotes Christine Williams’ Still A Man’s World: Men Who Do ‘Women’s Work’, “women who work in men’s occupations report hitting a ‘glass ceiling’ while men who work in women’s occupations encounter a ‘glass escalator’”.So, from Marxist thought, Nielsen deducts that “gender bias” has existed before capitalism. Several instances and historical evidences prove that extreme patriarchy existed even in the pre-industrial era and hence, the industrial revolution has not triggered gender inequality but has only aggravated it.

Though Marxist feminism has contributed to our idea of gender inequality, it fails to explain in clear terms on what causes such a bias. In spite of more and more women entering into the public space, an Utopian society of equality has not been met. What is the reason? Why are capitalists against women?

Radical Feminism: Radical feminists, who are anchored in the upper quadrants of Wilber, take a rather radical stance regarding the oppression of women. They say that only the reproductive role of women make them subjects of men. Meaning, men have control over women only because they have control over their procreation or reproductive activities. They pinpoint instances wherein men have controlled women’s reproduction: One is the idea of needing a socially approved father for a child (a case of illegitimacy is taboo). Another domain is mythical. Though the belief of man existed before everything is absurd (only a woman can give birth to a man), it is propagated to establish man’s control over woman. Even the replacement of mid-wives with M.D.s in the United States during the late 20th century is an instance. In today’s world too, every other advanced technology related to fertilization or reproduction is first in the hands of men (IVF or Artificial Insemination).

In order to reclaim control from men, Radical Feminists advise women to give up reproduction. They suggest use of artificial or technologically advanced procedures for procreation, thereby, stopping men from taking control over childbearing. But there are second opinions regarding this too. If women give up reproduction, they would be giving up the only activity for which they receive much regard in the society. Technology for reproduction will only make women into “domestic or sexual slaves”. This brings us to the threshold of another prevalent view among women – why should women give up reproduction (or her core activities) and try to become men? Why cannot she celebrate her femininity instead of harping on a masculine self that is not her own?

All said, Radical Feminism fails to answer with clarity the questions on gender bias and how to abolish it. If use of technology for reproduction could grant liberation to women, then, why are not the present, upwardly-mobile women liberated? Why do they have to face the discriminations of the society and need to rely on their male partners for several things in life?

Socialist Feminism: Socialist Feminist theory is in a way an integration of Marxist and Radical feminism. As Rosemarie Putnam Tong argues in her book Feminist Thought, “We do not need one theory (Marxism) to explain gender-neutral capitalism and another theory (feminism) to explain gender-biased patriarchy….but a single theory–a socialist feminist theory–to explain gender-biased capitalist patriarchy.” Yes, Socialist Feminism suggests that the root cause of all bias is a patriarchal society that is capitalist. Capitalism and Patriarchy are so intertwined that they cannot be separated from each other. Socialist feminists provide an answer to the Gilbert case. They say that the Judges’ decision was against pregnant workers because he saw the world through capitalist-patriarchal lens. In the Court case, a group of capitalist men have exercised complete control over the reproduction of a few women. And the women, as incapable and socially-handicapped, were able to do nothing about it.

But what is the reason behind such capitalist-patriarchal behavior? Why is there hostility against women? We will see more of Joyce Nielsen’s analysis on this and the mapping of other feminist theories in our Part II section.

Reference Links:

1. Joyce McCarl Nielsen: Feminist Fission or Fusion? Ken Wilber Meets Feminist Theory

2. From Feminism to the Divine Feminist: An Integral Male Perspective

3. Elizabeth Lesser: Women’s Integral Spirituality

4. Elizabeth Debold: Where Are The Women

5. Kaisa Puhakka: Restoring Connectedness in the Kosmos: A Healing Tale of a Deeper Order

Previous post:

Next post: